Sierra Club

An expanded Craggy Mountains Wilderness Study Area will be voted on by Buncombe County Commission on Tuesday Sept 20 to recommend to the US Forest Service that this area be designated wilderness and to be so considered by the US Congress.
 
Please email all Buncombe County Commissioners immediately to vote yes, & please consider speaking in support Tuesday Sept 20 around 4:30pm. Location: above TD Bank, 200 College St, Rm 326, Asheville.
 
Please copy all of the following county commissioners:
David Gantt: commissioner@davidgantt.com
Brownie Newman: brownie.newman@buncombecounty.org
Mike Fryar: mike.fryar@buncombecounty.org
Ellen Frost: ellen.frost@buncombecounty.org
Joe Belcher: joe.belcher@buncombecounty.org
Tim Moffitt: timothy.moffitt@buncombecounty.org
Holly Jones: holly.jones@buncombecounty.org
 
The following are suggested talking points.  Please put a few in your own words.

#    Craggy Mountains are one of most popular and ecologically important recreational areas on the entire Blue Ridge Parkway (BRP)
#    Craggy Mountains section of the US Forest contains 3,000 acres of old-growth forests that area worthy of permanent protection from logging
#    Headwater streams around Craggy Mountains are home to native trout
#    Headwater streams are part of Big Ivy protected watershed, which leads to the town of Weaverville's drinking water source
#    At least thirty-seven (37) rare plant and animal species live in Craggy Mountain area
#    Craggy Mountains are an important part of the Blue Ridge Parkway's view shed, including the Craggy Gardens area (one of most photographed and beloved stops on entire BRP)
#    While many WNC counties already have federally designated wilderness areas, BUNCOMBE COUNTY CURRENTLY HAS NONE
 #   Wilderness designation will best protect historical use for hunting, fishing, camping, and swimming- Residents have enjoyed these activities in the proposed wilderness for over two hundred (200) years
#    Designation of Craggy Wilderness area is supported by a broad coalition of over forty (40) local, regional, and national organizations, including the Big Ivy community
#    As Buncombe County continues to experience a huge increase in tourist economy/dollars, new recreational opportunities are needed to satisfy tourist demand for wilderness experiences
#    We want our children and grandchildren to experience wilderness areas like we have been able to enjoy during our lifetime